Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Too Many Volts ???

I have one of those idiot lights on my bike that indicates if your battery is charging or not. The red, yellow and green lights are all on at the same time. I put my volt meter on the battery while idling. I am reading 15.1 to 15.5 volts. I am not an electrical scientist but I believe that is too high. The bike is a 2006 with 55K on the clock. Is that voltage too high? If it is what could be causing it, voltage regulator?

From what my service manual says, I don't think the Voltage is too high. Although the manual I am looking at is for a pre-2006 model, I don't believe this spec would change. Here is what that section says about checking the charging circuit:

4. Charging Voltage Inspection
    Measure and record the battery voltage using a digital multimeter (page 17-6).
    Start the engine.
    Measure the charging voltage (page 17-7).
    Compare the measurements to the result of the following calculation.

MEASURED BATTERY VOLTAGE < MEASURED CHARGING VOLTAGE < 15.5 V

Do the battery and charging voltages satisfy the calculation?
    YES – Faulty battery.
    NO – GO TO STEP 5.
    Richard
    Darksider #390
    Murgie's FAQ

Comment: (For off-topic replies)

Well, speaking from the other side of the Continental Divide, I would think that 15.1 to 15.5 would seem to be high. Most of us old-school riders or techs/mechanics would think that a 13.8 volt to 14.2 volt range would be exactly where we would want the charging system to be. The battery itself may read lower, as it is taken as a static value...and is usually between 11.5 volts to 12.4 volts. But with the engine running, so as to measure the charging system output, it should be between 13.8 and 14.2 volts. I do not think I would panic at this point, but I would keep an eye on the system, checking it periodically. It it ever charges above 16 volts, then there is a problem.