How to compress rear break piston with...

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to compress rear break piston with...

I was trying to replace rear pads as per Chris video. Everyone states no need for wheel removal. No issues with the take apart. Problem lies is that the middle piston isn't closed enough and it will only allow one brake pad on and not the other, even with moving it. Any Idea on how to safely compress piston. I don't seem to have enough leverage to do with hands. Tried the flat bar but again no leverage.
    appreciate all answers.

also, if I have to lay bike down to remove wheel, then how the HECK, can I get to the brake on the other side? As you can see I'm new to self maintainence and would like some tips. Thanks in advance...

If you loosen the cap on the brake reservoir, or remove it altogether, then it will release the pressure from the brake fluid line. Be careful not to overflow the reservoir when you compress the pistons. Also, only do this if you are planning to do a fluid swap with fresh brake fluid. I cannot remember, but possible that the middle piston is controlled by the front (handlebar) reservoir. Even with the caps installed, you should still be able to compress them, but it takes more effort. Compressing pistons can be very slow process.
    GOLDWING AND F6B MAINTENANCE VIDEOS
    Save $1000 a year in labor by doing your own maintenance!

Website | YouTube | 2001-2017 Videos | 2018+ Videos

Comment: (For off-topic replies)

Barry, I "would" have helped you with this....as I know the answer...but......once again you neglected to come to your Journeyman first, and ask me privately.

Oh, Barry, what am I going to do with you?

Do as Chris said.....remove the cap from the rear master cylinder, and place the cap back on...slightly at an angle, just in case some fluid tries to squirt upward. Then remove the cap from the front brake reservoir, and do the same.