Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What octane level to use?

At the risk of incurring many oh-so-witty replies, I'm new to the Gold Wing world and while I see the manual says u=to use a rating of 86 or higher some riders told me that 88 or even 91 is a better option (engine runs hotter?) - so is that true? Is it worth the extra cost to use higher-than-required octane gas?

I think it would be a waste of money to use higher octane.
    Costa Mesa, CA
    2012 RED GL1800

Comment: (For off-topic replies)

Note the manual provides 'pump octane number' of 86.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Octane...rement_methods

"In most countries in Europe (also in Australia, Pakistan and New Zealand) the "headline" octane rating shown on the pump is the RON, but in Canada, the United States, Brazil, and some other countries, the headline number is the simple mean or average of the RON and the MON, called the Anti-Knock Index (AKI), and often written on pumps as (R+M)/2. It may also sometimes be called the Posted Octane Number (PON)."

Now, read the fine print on the pump, observe it has the (R+M)/2 indicated.

So, is pump octane number equivalent to posted octane number?

Yes. See the chart in that linked Wikipedia article for the details. "Regular" North American fuel is 87* at normal elevations.

* Fuel can be purchased with lower octane levels (86, 85) at higher elevations.

No, not required nor desired (engine is relatively low compression...)
      Ken (IBA #50030) & Grace (IBA #62768)Tucson, AZ"Get busy living, or get busy dying." -Andy Dufresne, The Shawshank Redemption 1994ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕMy blog

Originally posted by glarson3 View Post
        I think it would be a waste of money to use higher octane.
        Thank you sir! That's what I was hoping

Originally posted by kwthom View Post
          Note the manual provides 'pump octane number' of 86.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Octane...rement_methods